Saturday, November 29, 2008

Lenny Williams - Cause I Love You


Just sitting and listening to the old school stuff again and decided to share some of it with you all. Also check out "I want to be free" by The Ohio Players... Love this song.


Girl, you know I love you
No matter what you do
And I hope you understand me
Every word I say is true
‘Cause I love you

Baby, I’m thinkin’ of you
Tryin’ to be more of a man for you
And I don’t have much riches
But we gonna see it through
‘Cause I love you

oh...oh...oh...

Some men need lots of women
For their passions to feel
But I want only you, girl
If it’s in, if it’s in, if it’s in God’s will
‘Cause I, ‘cause I love you

I, I love you, baby
With all my heart and soul
Oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

I Love you
I need you
I want you
I need you

Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh your love makes me grow stronger
It keeps goin’ on, oh, baby
I’m glad I found you
I just love to be around you, oh, baby
You’ve been so good to me
Oh, baby
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

Hmm, hmm
Hmm...hmm...mmm...
You know
One time things got so bad until
I had to go to one of my friends and talk to him
And I told him, I said, “You know
I’m having problems with the woman that I love
It seems that I call her on the phone and I just can’t get her to answer
And then I went to her house and I saw a car parked in the driveway
I knocked on the door, but still my knocks went unanswered
And then I went home and I-I watched television until television went off
And then I played my records until I just didn’t want to hear them anymore
And finally I went to bed, but I found myself waking up a few hours later
And the tears were running down my face”
And my friends told me, he said, “Lenny,
You just oughta forget about her”
But I told my friend, I said, “You know
Maybe you’ve never been in love like I’ve been in love
And maybe you’ve never felt the things that I’ve felt”
But this is what I told my friend
I said, “You know, sometimes you get lonely
You get lonely, you get lonely”
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
And I cry, I cry
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
And the tears would fill up in the wells
In the wells of my eyes, aww baby
And then it got so bad, it got so bad
Till one time I thought I’d roll myself up in a big ol’ ball and die
And then I met you, darlin’
And you smiled at me
Oh, oh, it was such a pretty smile, yes, it was
And you reached out your hand
You helped me (Helped), you helped me (Helped me), you helped, oh
I’m glad, baby, I’m glad, baby
Oh, oh, oh, baby, ey, ey, ey
I won't ever leave you, baby
I won't ever grieve you, baby
I’m gonna love you, oh, oh, oh, baby
I’m glad, I’m glad, baby
Oh, oh, yeah, baby, oh, oh, oh
I love you, I love you
I love you, I love you, oh
I love you, I love you
I love you, I love you
I love you, I love you
I love you

Stay up guys!
Dimitra

Sunday, November 9, 2008

Seduction by Nikki Giovanni

one day
you gonna walk in this house

and i'm gonna have a long African
gown
you'll sit down and say "The Black..."
and i'm gonna take one arm out
then you-not noticing me at all- will say "What about this brother..."
and i'm going to be slipping it over my head
and you'll rap on about "The revolution..."
while i rest your hand against my stomach
you'll go on-as you always do- saying
"I just can't dig..."
while i'm moving your hand up and down
and i'll be taking your dashiki off
then you'll say "What we really need..."
and taking your shorts off
the you'll notice
your state of undress
and knowing you you'll just say
"Nikki/
isn't this counterrevolutionary..."

Friday, November 7, 2008

John McCain Concession Speech

Hey Everyone,

They finally put up McCain's concession speech on YouTube, so in case you missed it, here it is:

McCain Concedes

This is a great speech. He delivered it very well, and I really enjoyed him. He was encouraging and humble, and still showed his disappointment, which I also like because it shows he's human and the presidency really and truly mattered to him.

McCain's a good guy, and I feel sad for him. It always sucks when your dreams are dashed. I feel for him greatly.

I hope you all enjoy the speech.

Dimitra

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

In Case You Missed It...

Here is the speech from Barack Obama on election night:

Obama Acceptance Speech (Part 1)


Obama Speech (Part 2)

--------------------------------------------------------------
I tried to find McCain's speech of concession, but its not on YouTube. It was a great speech though. McCain was a good guy and he took this loss very well. Kudos to him and his party for a good fight.

Let's see what happens now! I'm anxious to see what direction the country will take.

Be Happy!
Dimitra

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

I Didn't Vote For Obama Just Because I'm Black...


Today, history was made and I was actually alive to see it. I can't wait to be an old lady with grandchildren and great grandchildren and be able to say, "I was just 20 years old when the first black president was elected."

Barack Obama... Not just a hero for African Americans, but a hero for Americans everywhere. Next leader of the free world. I can't wait to see the good things he has planned come to fruition. I will pray for him and his cabinate. For his health and his family's well being. I will pray that he will be able to guide and lead this country and put us back on our feet and bring us back to where we once were as a nation in the days of Clinton. Most of all, what I'm most happiest about is that the days of George W. Bush are over... we no longer live in Bush's America. That's the highlight of it all.

I'm so ecstatic, I'm beyond words or description. All I can say is happiness. All I can say is I'm proud. More proud than I've been in a long time. This election has restored my faith in this country and democracy. I voted, and it payed off. I pray this isn't a dream. I can't wait to go to sleep so I can wake up to more talk about our new president.

JANUARY 20TH CANNOT COME SOON ENOUGH!!

I've gotta be honest... I never thought in a million years (just like I'm sure the majority of you did as well) that America would ever see a black president... or that a woman would even come as close to the White House or even gain as much support as Sarah Palin and Hilary Clinton both received. This is definitely a better more mature America, and I think the rest of the world can respect us now as a nation. I'm sooo glad my parents were alive to see this historic day take place. My mom was 6 years old... 6 YEARS OLD when blacks were first allowed to vote. She will be turning 50 this year... We as a people have come a very long way in a short amount of time. Not only were my parents alive to see this, but both of my grandmothers, and even my great grandmother was alive to see this happen. This means so much to me not only as an African American, as a young person as well.

This entire summer I've been struggling with myself and doing a lot of soul searching as a young black woman living in a city that is 78% white and only 7% black. I have no black friends when I go home. I'm always the only black face, and where it used to never bother me, it seems the older I'm becoming the more apparent it is, and the more race matters. My white friends revealed to me this summer they had no idea racism existed in Portland, let alone Oregon. One of my best friends is dating a racist. I mean, he's nice to me, but I know I'm still just a nigger to him and all his buddies. Where their approval once mattered to me I could now care less. I found myself being often times ashamed of my culture... Just to fit in with this white people who increasingly proved to me that they don't give a damn about me, and no matter how long I've been their friend doesn't matter, I'm still black, I'm still a nigger, and they will never just see me as a person. The more I realized this over the summer, the more it made my soul sick... I went through much inner turmoil. But now, this Fall at school, I've mended my hurt feelings and moved on. I've become proud of my race, and my heritage, and I just resolved to make new friends.

This election has given me more confidence to be able to overcome the struggles over the summer to find my place in society and be proud of it. Just as Obama said in his acceptance speach: Yes WE Can. And the coolest thing about that phrase is that it wasn't directed towards blacks, but towards America and to a greater extent, the world.

I must go on to address what I stated in my title. Yes, because I'm black, the fact that our new president happens to be black, I am ecstatic and very happy. But that is not the sole reason I voted for him. And I want to be very clear on this. I liked John McCain as well. But for one, when he addressed the issues and put up his plans for the economy and health care and such, the Americans that he was targeting in those plans to help out and to benefit, as an adult about to enter the real world and be affected by the laws put forth by the government, I didn't fall into the brackets his plans were set to help. Same with the people I care most about. Obama's plans helped a more broad spectrum of people. Just his health care plan alone was better than McCain's. If you don't believe me, watch a little documentary called "Sicko". Obama wants to make universal health care just like it is in a lot of other countries (not just 3rd world) that are actually doing a lot better than our country is right now. So please stop thinking that I or anyone else that is black voted for him because he's black too. I'm sure there were people on both sides that voted based strictly on race, but DO NOT write all of us off for voting just to get a black man in office. If that was the case then there wouldn't have been ANY blacks who voted for McCain, WHICH THERE WERE. The other reason why I feel Obama won, if I haven't said so already, is because I don't feel like McCain campaigned well enough...He just didn't do it. Sit and think about it for a while. Think back to every debate. Think back to every rally. Think about all of his ads... Were they as strong as Barack's? Not quite.

And for those of you who think that the world is going to end because we have a black man in office... You all are a bunch of nonsense and you all need help. Just because there's a black man in office, Jesus isn't going to just hop off his throne and decide its time for the 2nd coming. Don't you think these types of milestones and goals in becoming a more united nation and breaking down racial barriers are the types of things He wants? Doesn't Jesus want us all to love one another and uplift one another? I don't think this election is going to dictate whether Jesus is coming any sooner. And I don't think Jesus is Republican or Democratic. I think He's for everyone. No one knows when He'll come, not even the angels! So please put out of your head all the ignorant thoughts about Obama being the one to destroy the nation and then the world. If you want to know when Jesus will come, read the Bible...It tells you what to look for. And I can assure you, as I've read it myself, a black man becoming the leader of a nation is not one of the signs. K? Lol

So with all that said,

OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA!!!

The right man for the job won. I pray he will be a great president and he will get this country back on track. I can't wait until tomorrow when he announces his Cheif of Staff and I can't wait to hear who the rest of his cabinate will be.

And all you people who hate Obama or, just didn't want him to win, or are saying all sorts of bad things or just being all out HATERS, remember he's your president too, and we can't always get what we want. Just try to make the best of it. The years will fly by. And in 2 years this whole thing will start over again and new people will be campaigning, so you have a chance to make a difference again. Make the most of what you got! Make lemonade!

Its a proud day to be an American...

Stay up!
Dimitra

Saturday, October 25, 2008

SCAD Finally Comes Through for Once!

So I found out last night that my roommate is sick, and has been extremely sick for the last couple weeks now. She's missed classes and mid term week, and just everything. Its been just as grueling for her as it has been for me, and I've just been trying to figure out what was wrong with her! But that's a whole other story in and of itself. Lol

So anyway, I found out she was sick, so I decided to take her to the doctor. However, there was one downfall to that. Everything at SCAD except the supply store, and the cafeteria are closed on weekends. One of the first things I learned at SCAD as a freshman was that you don't get sick at SCAD on the weekend. Otherwise you're just S.O.L.

And I'll admit, I didn't wanna take her to the doc but at the same time I did. I didn't wanna use the gas, I didn't wanna drive HELLA far to the ER, and I didn't wanna go for the thousandth time to the doctor for someone else and wait for hours for a diagnosis that isn't even for me, like I've been doing the last couple of weeks. But on the flipside, my roommate was really sick and I'm not a heartless person, and her being sick was creating a number of issues for the environment we share together. I wanted her to be herself again. The roommate that was chill enough to live with. Be right now... Right now.... WOW. That's all I can say for this blog right now. The details of hell are for another blog. Lol

So, back to the story: (sorry as I tend to ramble a lot. Especially when writing. Lol)

So I resolved to call SCAD and figure out how I can avoid using my gas and all that, but still keep my promise to my roommate and not come off like a selfish person or something. Because that is not who or what I was trying or wanted to be. So after a number of failed calls due to it being a saturday at noon, I finally got directed to SCAD security of all places, who called the RD (resident director) on duty who in turn called me, and got all of our information, and told me she would call a cab, pay for it, and have them take us to UrgentOne, which is a walk-in clinic in connection to SCAD. I was ecstatic! The only thing I would have to do is ride and wait, and then ride again. I could take having to wait, without all the extra stuff, and I didn't mind if it meant that things would get better for everyone involved overall.

I'm just surprised and super happy that for once, SCAD came through for its students. Lol my faith has been restored!

Stay up!
Dimitra :-)

Monday, October 6, 2008

20 years and counting...


I am no longer a teenager. Lol I've finally joined all of my friends at being a 20-something.
Friday, October 3rd was my birthday, and I wanted to celebrate by doing something I've never done before. What did we come up with?
Shooting off a gun. It was the most invigorating experience ever. It was also slightly addicting, yet sooo relaxing. All the tension I had ever built up in my entire life, all the stress from working nonstop here at SCAD, being frustrated that I haven't been able to keep up with my workouts and that my progress is slipping away, all left me that day. All the weight from my shoulders.
I suggest that everyone when feeling stressed, go to the range and fire off a few rounds. There's no other therapy like it. But keep it only at the range people. In the range, with a paper target, and that's it! I don't wanna hear about anyone going postal and then blaming my blog entry for it. Guns are no joke.

(That was cheesy and what not, but it had to be said. Lol)

Since then I've been back to my stressful, work-filled weeks. Midterms are next week, and I'm pretty sure I'm going to be sleepless. Just pray for me everyone. I'm gonna need it.

I'm having such a hard time maintaining this new life I've created for myself over the summer. I want to continue to be healthy, focused, and organized like I was this summer... So far I've only managed to be organized. I've been unusually on top of my classes. I like that part. Usually by now my social scene would have gotten the best of me a couple times and I'd be struggling to catch up. So that's the one thing I'm proud of... Now if only I can get everything else back.

That is my goal.

Thursday, October 2, 2008

Finally An Update...

Hello All.

I'm back. I've been slacking, I know. But its all been due to school.
I've been so unbelievably busy with my classes, that no matter how hard I would try to clear time to blog, something else would just pop up in my way.

However, I must say that this quarter has been thoroughly enjoyable. My classes are amazing and pretty soon I'll be putting up some of my artwork.

I'm pretty sure that from this point on, I'll finally be at a place where I can be back to my usual self and updating and posting things on the regular.

So look for me and my blog. I hope you all haven't forgotten about me.

Dimitra

Monday, September 1, 2008

I've Been Loving You Too Long To Stop Now... Otis Redding

As most of you know, I love all kinds of music from all different eras.
I was listening to music with my parents this evening as they reminisced about how old they were the first time they heard each song that came through the speakers.
One song that I've always loved and have listened to many times caught my attention, and I haven't been able to get it out since.

The Song: I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now) by Otis Redding

Here are the Lyrics:

You are tired .. and you want to be free
My love is growing stronger, as you become a habit to me
[Ohh] I've been loving you a little too long
I dont wanna stop now

With you my life huh
Has been so wonderful
I can't stop now

You are tired .. and your love is growing cold
My love is growing stronger as our affair, affair grows old
I've been loving you a little too long
I don't want to stop now

ohh
ohh
ohh

I've been loving you a little too long
I don't wanna stop now

ohh
ohh
ohh

And don't make me stop now
Oh baby
I'm down on my knees
Please, don't make me stop now
I love you, I love you, I love you with all my heart
And I can't stop now
Please, please, please don't make me stop now
yeah yeah yeah
I love you
I love you
Talkin' 'bout heart and soul
That I love you
I love you
I love you
I love you
Good God almighty but I love you
I love you
I love you

Drawing to a Close...

Time is seeming to fly by as the beginning of Fall quarter at SCAD draws near. I'm beginning to get excited to see everyone again, make new friends, and cultivate new connections I've made with students over the summer, as well as show off my new self.

I'm shipping off my car tomorrow morning, so that will be sad because I'll have 2 weeks of being carless in Portland which pretty much makes me sad.

Other than that, I cannot stop thinking about my new classes, professors, and wondering what this quarter has in store for me.

A lot of stuff in my life has changed rapidly and unexpectedly, and I can't wait to see how adjusting to these changes will work out. I just feel that the excitement will be so unbearable that these last few days will creep by slowly, thus inevitably drive me insane.

But who knows?? We'll see...

Dimitra

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

The Game's New Album : LAX In Stores NOW!

I just bought The Game's new album LAX today, and listened to it.

IT IS THE BUSINESS. Its a great album! But could you really expect anything less from THE Game??

I suggest everyone go cop this right now. Its worth the trip and the money.

Let's hear it everybody for West Coast Rap!!

Here's a few of my favorite tracks: (Even though pretty much every single song is amazing)

  • State of Emergency ft. Ice Cube
  • My Life ft. Lil Wayne
  • Money
  • Cali Sunshine ft. Bilal
  • Gentleman's Affair ft. Ne-Yo
  • Let Us Live ft. Chrisette Michelle
  • Angel ft. Common
  • Never Can Say Goodbye ft. Latoya Williams
  • Dope Boys ft. Travis Barker
  • Game's Pain ft. Keyshia Cole
Check them out.. They're pretty amazing. And I could've listed more, but then it would've probably ended up being the whole album! Lol

One Love,
Dimitra

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Kanye Does It Again!!

I just checked out Kanye's blog, and he's got a new song up called "Go Hard", a collaboration with DJ Khaled and T-Pain.
With the exception of Khaled doing that same annoying ass yelling over the track, this song is amazing! Kanye KILLS IT! Literally! And T-Pain does not fall short either. I've decided I like when T-Pain and Kanye are on the track together...Its gonna always be a hit!

Take a listen to this track: RIGHT HERE!

Prepare for that which is amazing...

Dimitra

Monday, August 18, 2008

Think About It...

A Goal Without A Plan Is Just A Wish...

'Nuff Said...


Catch your dreams, Plan your goals.

Dimitra

Sunday, August 17, 2008

Something Worth Fixing (July 20th, 2007)

What you are about to read, was written over a year ago. I just stumbled across it, and it made me think. I'm now in reflection and currently analyzing my life and myself, and the things that have and haven't changed since I wrote this. I don't remember the exact details of the conversation that sparked it, but I know who the conversation was with. And considering then and now, it brings a certain song to mind: "Let's See How Far We've Come" - Matchbox 20. That same line is ringing true in my head... "Let's see how far we've come, let's see how far we've come..."


Which only leads me to wonder: If this was written at 5 months, and now it is 2 years, and this same note still seems all to familiar and still rings true, how far will we go? Or have we gone as far as possible and are now in a rut?


Here's the note. You tell me.

Something Worth Fixing...


Some of the most hurtful things anyone has ever said to me and some of the nicest most loving and beautiful things anyone has ever said to me have all seem to come from the mind, heart, and mouth of the one person I care about and love most next to my family.
My mind is just boggled at how someone who's supposed to love you and care about you so much can build you up and break you down so easily.
All I keep thinking is why?....WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY????? Why is this happening, and why now and all of a sudden? Have all these feelings of hatred towards me been here all along and he finally can't take it anymore?
Was wanting to call and have conversations and maintain a connection in the distance we have right now so bad? My intentions were good -- to bring us closer -- not drive him away.
Now I find myself going to sleep in tears every night, and waking up with tears every morning, pretending everything is ok with all my friends and roommates, and my family, knowing they all know something is very wrong with me... I'm clearly a person who wears their heart on their sleeve, and anyone who knows me knows this.
All I've ever wanted to do was find someone who fits me, which he does, and love them, take care of them, completely spoil them, do everything for them that they need, and just be there in every possible way they want... I just want to make you happy. And what do I want in return?? All I want is a pure untainted connection... Reciprocated love and affection. I don't want material things, I don't want money, I don't want anything except that real human connection you get between you and the person you love, who is supposed to love you back.
I guess he doesn't understand that. I'm also guessing he doesn't understand that he too wears his heart on his sleeve, so if something is truly bothering him, its obvious...painstakingly obvious.
All I want is realness at this point... Am I seriously smothering you?? If so, I can fix that easily. I told you I could, and I told you that if I'm smothering you, the only reason is that I was just trying to actively keep the relationship going through our current situation... I mean, we've made so many future plans, why do you wanna throw this away all of a sudden? You've been claiming that you love me, so why are you pushing me away? What happened that it seems in just couple days you wanna throw everything we've been through and worked for away? I just want to know what I did, and how I can change it, so we can be happy again.
WHY DON'T YOU WANNA FIX IT? AREN'T WE WORTH FIXING???? Have you not had a good time with me since we started? Have I really just been a horrible girlfriend since I've started dating you? If I could just know what's going on, I'd even feel better. I'm completely in the dark here. If you've met someone, and they're worth throwing away 5 months for, I hope she's amazing and willing to do for you what I am. Just be real. Don't lie, or make up reasons to shut me up, just say what's on your mind. What happened between the few days we spent together and the 2 days I was away from you? Did we not have a good time? I just have so many questions that you're not willing to answer, and I don't understand why you won't answer them, or just tell me straight up what's happening.
Please,...I implore you.... PLEASE, let's fix whatever is wrong. Don't you think it'll be worth it in the end? I do. I truly believe we're worth fixing. I've never invested so much time in someone and my connection with them. Please don't let it go in vain. That would mean your time was wasted too. Don't let it be a waste.

I love you.


All I know is one thing. I'm determined to not be stuck in a rut, and by this same time next summer, it will be different. I'm already taking the necessary precautions to make sure of that.
I believe we are worth fixing.

I just hope it works. I love him too much...

Dimitra

Tech N9ne's long awaited DOUBLE DISC album: KILLER...



Tech N9ne, Tecca Nina, Tech - Whatever you wanna refer to him as, he's back. With appearances from people like Paul Wall, Ice Cube, and Scarface, this long awaited double disc album entitled "Killer" is amazing. If you're a definite Tech N9ne fan, you'll love this album which is rumored to be his last.

I've not made it to the 2nd disc, but last night I was able to get through the 1st and its lovely.

So just give it a listen. Its definitely worth the buy. You'll enjoy it.

Dimitra

Friday, August 15, 2008

Aaahhh... Portland in the Summer.

I was driving and got beautiful view of Mt. Hood and everything else below. I just felt I needed to share it with you all.
Portland is one of the most beautiful places to be, and I'm proud to be from Oregon, born and raised. Lol
I'm anxious and excited to go back to school and start classes, see my boyfriend and friends, but leaving home always breaks my heart. This place is the greatest, and if you've never been, come and visit. You'll never wanna leave.

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

You Can Do Better Than Me... Death Cab for Cutie (Narrow Stairs)

This song is truly AMAZING. For those of you who still haven't given DCfC a chance, here's another opportunity. I swear, this band always has the most amazing and most heart felt lyrics. The things they sing about I'm sure everyone can relate to in one way or another.

You Can Do Better Than Me.


I'm starting to feel we stay together out of fear of dying alone
I've been slipping through the years, and my old clothes don't fit like they once did
So they hang ghosts of the people I've been

But its like my heart can't be tamed,
And I fall in love everyday and I feel like a fool
And I have to face the truth,
That no one could ever look at me like you do.
Like I'm something worth holding on to

There's times I think of leaving,
But its something I'll never do
'Cause you can do better than me,
But I can't do better than you.

Like I've been saying. Amazing stuff. Narrow Stairs is the album, Death Cab for Cutie is the group.
Be open minded. Listen for depth and realness. When you do this, it will allow this music to really speak to you.

Music is a beautiful thing.

I feel sorry for the deaf, for they can feel the vibrations and the sounds, but they can never know the beauty in the meaning of the words.



Enjoy.
Dimitra

Monday, August 11, 2008

When I Have Fears That I May Cease to Be... John Keats

Here's another poem to enjoy. Its a John Keats. He's pretty cool.
Enjoy:

When I Have Fears That I May Cease to Be

When I have fears that I may cease to be
Before my pen has glean'd my teeming brain,
Before high-piled books, in charactery,
Hold like rich garners the full ripen'd grain;
When I behold, upon the night's starr'd face,
Huge cloudy symbols of a high romance,
And think that I may never live to trace
Their shadows, with the magic hand of chance;
And when I feel, fair creature of an hour,
That I shall never look upon thee more,
Never have relish in the faery power
Of unreflecting love; - then on the shore
Of the wide world I stand alone, and think
Till love and fame to nothingness do sink.

Wonderful, right?

Dimitra

Friday, August 8, 2008

Its like pulling teeth...

So I had my wisdom teeth pulled yesterday morning. It wasn't the most fun thing ever, but everyone who said it was gonna be horrible... You're wrong. It was just regular.
I will tell you what's a bitch though: trying to find something to eat. That sucks totally. I'm confined to only soft things, and its not fun...Well, not as fun as I thought it would be.
My face is slightly swollen, but I'm popping vicoden every few hours, so that's a definite plus! Lol
I'd say the biggest down side is not being able to go to the gym. Which means my recent progress will be lost, and I'll be set back from the goal I was trying to reach by the time I go to SCAD.


But anyway, aside from that, I've come to realize that people take my kindness for weakness. Or maybe its that they think that I'm just either gullible or stupid, or both. And this seems especially true with my family. Specifically my siblings. I don't know what to do about this, but it seems that they all are reaching out to me, THE YOUNGEST to solve all their problems. Just because I do one thing for you, doesn't make me a push over, or anything else like that. Sooo, I don't know how to combat this, and if any of you have some ideas on how to do so, I welcome them. But right now I'm frustrated. I'm the youngest, and I should be the one reaching out to my siblings for guidance. Not the other way around.

Monday, August 4, 2008

The Ice Is Getting Thinner... Death Cab for Cutie (Narrow Stairs)

This song that I'm about to share the lyrics with you is really speaking to me right now. I feel it seems to parallel my life right now at this exact moment...Who knows? Tomorrow it might be another song... Enjoy.



We're not the same, dear, as we used to be
The seasons have changed, and so have we
There was little we could say, and even less that we could do
To stop the ice from getting thinner
Under me and you

We buried our love in a wintery grave
A lump in the snow was all that remained
But we stayed by its side as the days turned to weeks
As the ice kept getting thinner with every word that we'd speak

And when the spring arrived we were taken by surprise
When the floes under our feet bled into the sea
And nothing was left for you and me

We're not the same, dear, and it seems to me
There's no where we can go with nothing underneath
And it saddens me to say what we both knew was true:
That the ice was getting thinner under me and you




All too real.... Listen to Death Cab. They can speak to anyone...Especially those who have ever been in love.

Dimitra

Reggae Re-Awakening...























A friend of mine has reawakened a part of my soul that I didn't even realize had died a long long time ago. One of my true loves, and some of the best genres for summer music: Reggae/Ska music.
Back in the day I was involved in an intense love affair with the uplifting sounds and hard-hitting words of Bob Marley.
Once I left home, I got involved in a relationship and well, frankly the reggae/ska scene just isn't something that he considers good to listen to. So now, nearly 2 years later, I found myself no longer a Rasta child, but just Dimitra. I had suppressed one of my real true loves and ended up suppressing it so hard, that it ended up suffocating and dying out...All of this done subconsciously, I moved on with life.
Now I've returned home, and I'm having an amazing summer - PORTLAND STYLE. I'm thoroughly enjoying my time here, and when I have to return to Georgia, it will truly be more bitter than sweet.
I cannot thank my friend enough for reminding me of what was lost in the archives for so long. I was giving her a ride home, and she asked if we could pop in a Bob Marley cd. Of course she could! It'd been a long time! I was not ready for what was about to happen. All the familiar beats and rhythms, Bob's one-of-a-kind soulful voice, and lovely lyrics. Needless to say, it captivated me, and I literally felt like a part of me that had been lost forever had come back. All the memories, good times, and lessons I had learned have all come back to me, and I remembered who I used to be, and saw how much I've changed. Reggae made me more light-hearted, laid back and happy...It really feels like right now I'm none of those things. Now, I worry too much, over analyze things, and I let everything bother me.
Its amazing how music can affect your moods, and indirectly affect your life. I love it!
Thanks to my friend, I've now returned to Mr. Marley, and I am working my way back to being that Rasta child once again.

For those of you who've never heard Bob Marley, or just never really listened to him before, or anything else, check him out. I highly suggest it. My favorite Marley album is "Legend". And I'm sure you will love it too.

I hope I've inspired you. Either to take a listen to Reggae, or to just allow yourself to be re-awakened by whatever it is in your life that you've allowed to die out.

I hope your summer is as meaningful as mine.
Dimitra

Thursday, July 31, 2008

If You Were Coming In The Fall... Emily Dickinson

If you were coming in the fall,
I'd brush the summer by
With half a smile and half a spurn,
As housewives do a fly.

If I could see you in a year,
I'd wind the months in balls,
And put them each in separate drawers,
Until their time befalls.

If only centuries delayed,
I'd count them on my hand,
Subtracting till my fingers dropped
Into Van Diemens land.

If certain, when this life was out,
That yours and mine should be,
I'd toss it yonder like a rind,
And taste eternity.

But now, all ignorant of the length
Of time's uncertain wing,
It goads me, like the goblin bee,
That will not state its sting.

This is my favorite poem of all time...
Tell me what you think of it.

Dimitra

Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Back In Business...

I am finally back to the blog! I've been unable to sign in and update everyone.
Now I'm back and ready for action. Lol
So far, I've not done much.
I gauged my ears, and I'm pretty excited about it. I'm actually going to attempt a new size tonight. My trainer Justin finally noticed some change in me. He said, "You look smaller." That made me feel good. I'm really into the whole diet and exercise thing, and its really paying off. Pretty soon I'll have my bikini bod back and then the fun can start.
So far that's what's happened since I've been missing. Not much...But its something.
I haven't been inspired much as of late. But I will be soon.

Check ya later...

Dimitra

Saturday, July 26, 2008

To Helen...

I love Edgar Allan Poe. He's one of my favorite writers. I love his poetry and his stories. Today I've been inspired to share one of his poems with you. I love it.

To Helen

Helen, thy beauty is to me
Like those Nicean barks of yore,
That gently, o'er a perfumed sea,
The weary, way-worn wanderer bore
To his own native shore.

On desperate seas long wont to roam,
Thy hyacinth hair, thy classic face,
Thy Naiad airs have brought me home
To the glory that was Greece,
And the grandeur that was Rome.

Lo! in yon brilliant window-niche
How statue-like I see thee stand,
The agate lamp within thy hand!
Ah, Psyche, from the regions which
Are Holy-Land!

Hope you all liked it. Who would've thought that something so beautiful and genuine could come from one of the kings of gore? The author of The Pit and the Pendulum and The Tale-Tell Heart!
Beautiful poem. Love it everytime.

Have a good one...

Dimitra

Friday, July 25, 2008

So Here's The Deal...

I deleted my blog, and now I'm taking another stab at it. Sort of like a reinvention or something. I'm going to be trying a different approach. A more well kept, more updated, more mature approach. A showcase of the adult me, rather just me writing when I feel like bitching or getting something off my chest. It will involve everything having to do with me - people and situations included. However from a more intellectual standpoint. I won't name names, because I never do. But just know, that if you're involved with me in some way shape or form, you'll most likely end up in this blog, and it'll be all situations and experiences. Good or bad. I'm not putting anyone out there, just know, that it may be discussed if I feel so inspired. But that's just a small, very minuscule part of what this will be. You have to be involved in something hardcore to make it in here. Otherwise, subscribers to this blog will have access to see my artwork (which I am usually too lazy to put up and show, but I'm going to be making a real big effort to do so), my take on music, movies, products, and my ideals on health and wellness as I have found that I am increasingly falling in love with the gym and new health ventures. Just a bunch of tids and tads that have to do with the general population that you may want to know and acquire as knowledge.

So, I look forward to posting my future posts, and giving you all something you can use and enjoy rather than just nonsense.

Dimitra