Saturday, November 29, 2008

Lenny Williams - Cause I Love You


Just sitting and listening to the old school stuff again and decided to share some of it with you all. Also check out "I want to be free" by The Ohio Players... Love this song.


Girl, you know I love you
No matter what you do
And I hope you understand me
Every word I say is true
‘Cause I love you

Baby, I’m thinkin’ of you
Tryin’ to be more of a man for you
And I don’t have much riches
But we gonna see it through
‘Cause I love you

oh...oh...oh...

Some men need lots of women
For their passions to feel
But I want only you, girl
If it’s in, if it’s in, if it’s in God’s will
‘Cause I, ‘cause I love you

I, I love you, baby
With all my heart and soul
Oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

I Love you
I need you
I want you
I need you

Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh your love makes me grow stronger
It keeps goin’ on, oh, baby
I’m glad I found you
I just love to be around you, oh, baby
You’ve been so good to me
Oh, baby
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

Hmm, hmm
Hmm...hmm...mmm...
You know
One time things got so bad until
I had to go to one of my friends and talk to him
And I told him, I said, “You know
I’m having problems with the woman that I love
It seems that I call her on the phone and I just can’t get her to answer
And then I went to her house and I saw a car parked in the driveway
I knocked on the door, but still my knocks went unanswered
And then I went home and I-I watched television until television went off
And then I played my records until I just didn’t want to hear them anymore
And finally I went to bed, but I found myself waking up a few hours later
And the tears were running down my face”
And my friends told me, he said, “Lenny,
You just oughta forget about her”
But I told my friend, I said, “You know
Maybe you’ve never been in love like I’ve been in love
And maybe you’ve never felt the things that I’ve felt”
But this is what I told my friend
I said, “You know, sometimes you get lonely
You get lonely, you get lonely”
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
And I cry, I cry
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
And the tears would fill up in the wells
In the wells of my eyes, aww baby
And then it got so bad, it got so bad
Till one time I thought I’d roll myself up in a big ol’ ball and die
And then I met you, darlin’
And you smiled at me
Oh, oh, it was such a pretty smile, yes, it was
And you reached out your hand
You helped me (Helped), you helped me (Helped me), you helped, oh
I’m glad, baby, I’m glad, baby
Oh, oh, oh, baby, ey, ey, ey
I won't ever leave you, baby
I won't ever grieve you, baby
I’m gonna love you, oh, oh, oh, baby
I’m glad, I’m glad, baby
Oh, oh, yeah, baby, oh, oh, oh
I love you, I love you
I love you, I love you, oh
I love you, I love you
I love you, I love you
I love you, I love you
I love you

Stay up guys!
Dimitra

Sunday, November 9, 2008

Seduction by Nikki Giovanni

one day
you gonna walk in this house

and i'm gonna have a long African
gown
you'll sit down and say "The Black..."
and i'm gonna take one arm out
then you-not noticing me at all- will say "What about this brother..."
and i'm going to be slipping it over my head
and you'll rap on about "The revolution..."
while i rest your hand against my stomach
you'll go on-as you always do- saying
"I just can't dig..."
while i'm moving your hand up and down
and i'll be taking your dashiki off
then you'll say "What we really need..."
and taking your shorts off
the you'll notice
your state of undress
and knowing you you'll just say
"Nikki/
isn't this counterrevolutionary..."

Friday, November 7, 2008

John McCain Concession Speech

Hey Everyone,

They finally put up McCain's concession speech on YouTube, so in case you missed it, here it is:

McCain Concedes

This is a great speech. He delivered it very well, and I really enjoyed him. He was encouraging and humble, and still showed his disappointment, which I also like because it shows he's human and the presidency really and truly mattered to him.

McCain's a good guy, and I feel sad for him. It always sucks when your dreams are dashed. I feel for him greatly.

I hope you all enjoy the speech.

Dimitra

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

In Case You Missed It...

Here is the speech from Barack Obama on election night:

Obama Acceptance Speech (Part 1)


Obama Speech (Part 2)

--------------------------------------------------------------
I tried to find McCain's speech of concession, but its not on YouTube. It was a great speech though. McCain was a good guy and he took this loss very well. Kudos to him and his party for a good fight.

Let's see what happens now! I'm anxious to see what direction the country will take.

Be Happy!
Dimitra

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

I Didn't Vote For Obama Just Because I'm Black...


Today, history was made and I was actually alive to see it. I can't wait to be an old lady with grandchildren and great grandchildren and be able to say, "I was just 20 years old when the first black president was elected."

Barack Obama... Not just a hero for African Americans, but a hero for Americans everywhere. Next leader of the free world. I can't wait to see the good things he has planned come to fruition. I will pray for him and his cabinate. For his health and his family's well being. I will pray that he will be able to guide and lead this country and put us back on our feet and bring us back to where we once were as a nation in the days of Clinton. Most of all, what I'm most happiest about is that the days of George W. Bush are over... we no longer live in Bush's America. That's the highlight of it all.

I'm so ecstatic, I'm beyond words or description. All I can say is happiness. All I can say is I'm proud. More proud than I've been in a long time. This election has restored my faith in this country and democracy. I voted, and it payed off. I pray this isn't a dream. I can't wait to go to sleep so I can wake up to more talk about our new president.

JANUARY 20TH CANNOT COME SOON ENOUGH!!

I've gotta be honest... I never thought in a million years (just like I'm sure the majority of you did as well) that America would ever see a black president... or that a woman would even come as close to the White House or even gain as much support as Sarah Palin and Hilary Clinton both received. This is definitely a better more mature America, and I think the rest of the world can respect us now as a nation. I'm sooo glad my parents were alive to see this historic day take place. My mom was 6 years old... 6 YEARS OLD when blacks were first allowed to vote. She will be turning 50 this year... We as a people have come a very long way in a short amount of time. Not only were my parents alive to see this, but both of my grandmothers, and even my great grandmother was alive to see this happen. This means so much to me not only as an African American, as a young person as well.

This entire summer I've been struggling with myself and doing a lot of soul searching as a young black woman living in a city that is 78% white and only 7% black. I have no black friends when I go home. I'm always the only black face, and where it used to never bother me, it seems the older I'm becoming the more apparent it is, and the more race matters. My white friends revealed to me this summer they had no idea racism existed in Portland, let alone Oregon. One of my best friends is dating a racist. I mean, he's nice to me, but I know I'm still just a nigger to him and all his buddies. Where their approval once mattered to me I could now care less. I found myself being often times ashamed of my culture... Just to fit in with this white people who increasingly proved to me that they don't give a damn about me, and no matter how long I've been their friend doesn't matter, I'm still black, I'm still a nigger, and they will never just see me as a person. The more I realized this over the summer, the more it made my soul sick... I went through much inner turmoil. But now, this Fall at school, I've mended my hurt feelings and moved on. I've become proud of my race, and my heritage, and I just resolved to make new friends.

This election has given me more confidence to be able to overcome the struggles over the summer to find my place in society and be proud of it. Just as Obama said in his acceptance speach: Yes WE Can. And the coolest thing about that phrase is that it wasn't directed towards blacks, but towards America and to a greater extent, the world.

I must go on to address what I stated in my title. Yes, because I'm black, the fact that our new president happens to be black, I am ecstatic and very happy. But that is not the sole reason I voted for him. And I want to be very clear on this. I liked John McCain as well. But for one, when he addressed the issues and put up his plans for the economy and health care and such, the Americans that he was targeting in those plans to help out and to benefit, as an adult about to enter the real world and be affected by the laws put forth by the government, I didn't fall into the brackets his plans were set to help. Same with the people I care most about. Obama's plans helped a more broad spectrum of people. Just his health care plan alone was better than McCain's. If you don't believe me, watch a little documentary called "Sicko". Obama wants to make universal health care just like it is in a lot of other countries (not just 3rd world) that are actually doing a lot better than our country is right now. So please stop thinking that I or anyone else that is black voted for him because he's black too. I'm sure there were people on both sides that voted based strictly on race, but DO NOT write all of us off for voting just to get a black man in office. If that was the case then there wouldn't have been ANY blacks who voted for McCain, WHICH THERE WERE. The other reason why I feel Obama won, if I haven't said so already, is because I don't feel like McCain campaigned well enough...He just didn't do it. Sit and think about it for a while. Think back to every debate. Think back to every rally. Think about all of his ads... Were they as strong as Barack's? Not quite.

And for those of you who think that the world is going to end because we have a black man in office... You all are a bunch of nonsense and you all need help. Just because there's a black man in office, Jesus isn't going to just hop off his throne and decide its time for the 2nd coming. Don't you think these types of milestones and goals in becoming a more united nation and breaking down racial barriers are the types of things He wants? Doesn't Jesus want us all to love one another and uplift one another? I don't think this election is going to dictate whether Jesus is coming any sooner. And I don't think Jesus is Republican or Democratic. I think He's for everyone. No one knows when He'll come, not even the angels! So please put out of your head all the ignorant thoughts about Obama being the one to destroy the nation and then the world. If you want to know when Jesus will come, read the Bible...It tells you what to look for. And I can assure you, as I've read it myself, a black man becoming the leader of a nation is not one of the signs. K? Lol

So with all that said,

OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA!!!

The right man for the job won. I pray he will be a great president and he will get this country back on track. I can't wait until tomorrow when he announces his Cheif of Staff and I can't wait to hear who the rest of his cabinate will be.

And all you people who hate Obama or, just didn't want him to win, or are saying all sorts of bad things or just being all out HATERS, remember he's your president too, and we can't always get what we want. Just try to make the best of it. The years will fly by. And in 2 years this whole thing will start over again and new people will be campaigning, so you have a chance to make a difference again. Make the most of what you got! Make lemonade!

Its a proud day to be an American...

Stay up!
Dimitra